Technical Advisory Group

The Technical Advisory Group represents the interests of participating organizations and end users regarding the Commons’s technical development. The Technical Advisory Group channels community input on technical development directions and priorities; provides technical guidance, including review of external contributions to the code base; reviews functional upgrades and development priorities identified by the User Advisory Group; oversees guidelines for the review and testing of any external code contributions; and communicates the development needs of the community to the Commons team.


The members of the Technical Advisory Group for 2022 are:

  • Jay Cephas, Assistant Professor of Architecture and Urban Design, Princeton University
  • Grant Eben, Web Developer, Michigan State University
  • Martin Paul Eve, Professor of Literature, Technology and Publishing, Birkbeck University
  • Erin Glass, Senior Developer Educator / Digital Humanities practitioner, Digital Ocean
  • Matthew Gold, Associate Professor of English & Digital Humanities / Advisor to the Provost for Digital Initiatives, The Graduate Center, CUNY
  • Cole Hudson, Director of Information Systems and Technology, University of Arkansas Libraries
  • Venetria Patton, Harry E. Preble Dean, College of Liberal Arts & Sciences, University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign
  • Phillip Payne, Professor & Chair, St. Bonaventure University
  • Samya Roy, PhD student, IIT Jodhpur
  • Terence Smyre, Manifold Digital Projects Editor, University of Minnesota Press
  • Lisa Tagliaferri, Director of Developer Education, Sourcegraph
  • Amanda Visconti, Scholars’ Lab Managing Director, University of Virginia


Upcoming meetings of the Technical Advisory Group are scheduled as follows:

  • May 2022

Minutes from prior Technical Advisory Groups meetings are available as follows: